People

Seyran Ateş

This initiative is supported and financed by many people. At the forefront stands the German lawyer and author Seyran Ates, who has kicked off a broad debate on integration and Islam in Germany with her books (among others, the bestseller The Multiculturalism Fallacy). She advocates a peaceful, equitable and, above all, reformed Islam, far away from violence and outdated structures.

A team of activists, critics, lateral thinkers, lawyers and experts who want to carry the same political message out into the world has gathered around Seyran Ateş: yes to a peaceful joint Europe, no to extremists!

 

Dr. Sebastian Reimer

Sebastian Reimer is a lawyer with a doctorate and a software developer. He helped bring innovative projects to fruition – such as the Electronic health record – with his expertise in constitutional and Union law. As an employee of the Constitutional Service of the Austrian Federal Chancellery, he was able to acquire five years of intensive practice in the area of basic rights after his studies. In 2010, he founded Intelligent Law und Internet Applications, a company where the exactitude of programming and the abstract thinking of legislation enable entirely new approaches.

 

Efgani Dönmez

The conflict and mediation consultant Efgani Dönmez, a former member of the Austrian Federal Council, is one of Austria‘s warning voices on adherence to basic rights and human rights and has been active in social work and caring for refugees and migrants for many years. He is a lecturer at the University of Applied Science for Social Work and is also active as a business consultant.

 

Supporters

These supporters have declared themselves willing to stand by us with their names and their expertise. The list is updated and extended on an ongoing basis.

Mouhamad_Korchide.png

 Mouhanad Khorchide, sociologist and Islamic scholar

 “If you listen carefully to the arguments with which especially young people are being recruited for extremist milieus, the message is: the West is not exporting any democratic values, but rather arms and war. All of us, Muslims and non-Muslims, are challenged by extremism. The borders don’t run according to religious affiliation; they are much more a division between extremists and peace-loving people. This is why I am optimistic: there will now be an arousal of humanist Islam.”

 

 

Ahmad Mansour, psychologist and author

 “Various levels play a role in clarification for radicalisation and terror. We have to talk about sociological and psychological factors, but also about the underlying ideologies. There is an Islamist ideology which is very widespread with Muslims even in Germany. What I mean is, for example, a rejection of Western culture, the demonisation of our fundamental rights, specific victim and enemy images that are widespread. The Muslim community is also challenged. It has to conduct a debate within Islam in order to offer young people an understanding of Islam that does not offer any basis for Islamists to construct their radical ideology. They have to find a way to a democratic, humanist Islam that stands behind human rights without any ifs and buts.”

 

Said_Keller_Messahli.pngSaida Keller Messahli, human rights activist

“We are aware that what right-wing extremists would like best is to get rid of us all. However, unfortunately it’s often only right-wingers who address unacceptable issues, even if other intentions are often behind this. For me, however, extreme right-wing ideology is just as totalitarian as that of the Islamist. They are mutually dependent.”

Menschen

Seyran Ateş

Diese Initiative wird von einer Vielzahl an Personen unterstützt und getragen. Allen voran steht die deutsche Anwältin und Autorin Seyran Ates, die mit ihren Büchern (u.a. der Bestseller „Der Multikulti-Irrtum“) eine breite Debatte über Integration und den Islam in Deutschland losgetreten hat. Sie tritt für einen friedlichen, gleichberechtigten und vor allem reformorientierten Islam abseits von Gewalt und verkrusteten Strukturen ein.

Um Seyran Ateş hat sich ein Team von Aktivisten, Kritikern, Querdenkern, Juristen und Experten versammelt, die die gleiche politische Botschaft in die Welt tragen möchte: Ja zu einem friedlichen gemeinsamen Europa, Nein zu Extremisten!

 

Dr. Sebastian Reimer

Sebastian Reimer ist promovierter Jurist und Softwareentwickler. Er verhalf mit seiner verfassungs- und unionsrechtlichen Expertise innovativen Projekten - wie etwa der Elektronischen Gesundheitsakte - zum Durchbruch. Als Mitarbeiter des Verfassungsdienstes im österreichischen Bundeskanzleramt konnte er nach seinem Studium fünf Jahre lang intensive Praxis im Bereich der Grundrechte erwerben. 2010 gründete er „Intelligent Law und Internet Applications“, ein Unternehmen, bei dem die Exaktheit des Programmierens und das abstrakte Denken der Gesetzgebung völlig neue Ansätze ermöglichen.

 

Efgani Dönmez

Der Konflikt- und Mediationsberater Efgani Dönmez, ehemaliges Mitglied des österreichischen Bundesrates, ist eine der mahnenden Stimmen Österreichs zur Einhaltung von Grund- und Menschenrechten und seit vielen Jahren in der Sozialarbeit und in der Betreuung von Flüchtlingen und Migranten aktiv. Er ist Lektor an der Fachhochschule für Sozialarbeit und weiters als Unternehmensberater tätig.

  

UnterstützerInnen  

Diese Unterstützerinnen und Unterstützer haben sich bereit erklärt, uns mit ihrem Namen und ihrer Expertise zur Seite zu stehen. Die Liste wird laufend aktualisiert und erweitert.

 

Irmgard Griss, Juristin und ehem. Präsidentin des Obersten Gerichtshofes

 

Susanne Schröter, Islamwissenschaftlerin

 

Düzen Tekkal, Autorin und Kriegsberichterstatterin

 

Mouhamad_Korchide.png

 Mouhanad Khorchide, Soziologe und Islamwissenschaftler

„Wenn man genau auf die Argumente hört, mit denen vor allem junge Menschen für die extremistischen Milieus rekrutiert werden, lautet die Botschaft: Der Westen exportiert keine demokratischen Werte, sondern Waffen und Krieg. Wir alle, Muslime und Nicht-Muslime, sind durch den Extremismus herausgefordert. Die Grenze verläuft nicht nach Religionszugehörigkeit, sie trennt vielmehr Extremisten und friedliebende Menschen. Deshalb bin ich optimistisch: Es wird nun ein humanistischer Islam wachgerüttelt.“

 

 


Ahmad Mansour, Psychologe und Buchautor

„Bei der Erklärung von Radikalisierung und Terror spielen verschiedene Ebenen eine Rolle. Wir müssen über soziologische und psychologische Faktoren, aber auch über die zugrundeliegende Ideologie reden. Es gibt eine islamistische Ideologie, die bei Muslimen auch in Deutschland sehr weit verbreitet ist. Gemeint sind zum Beispiel die Ablehnung der westlichen Kultur, die Verteufelung unserer Grundrechte, bestimmte Opfer- und Feindbilder, die weit verbreitet sind. Auch die muslimische Community ist gefragt. Sie muss eine innerislamische Debatte führen, um Jugendlichen ein Islamverständnis anzubieten, das keine Basis schafft, auf der Islamisten ihre radikalen Ideologien aufbauen können. Sie müssen zu einem demokratischen, humanistischen Islam finden, der ohne Wenn und Aber hinter den Menschenrechten steht.“

 

Saida Keller Messahli, Menschenrechtsaktivistin

„Uns ist bewusst, dass uns Rechtsextreme am liebsten allesamt ausschaffen würden. Aber leider ist es oft nur die Rechte, die Inakzeptables anspricht, auch wenn manchmal andere Absichten dahinterstecken. Für mich ist die rechtsextreme Ideologie aber genauso totalitär wie diejenige der Islamisten. Sie bedingen sich gegenseitig.“