YOUR SIGNATURE HELPS STOP EXTREMISM IN EUROPE

Support our European citizen's initiative:

  • For effective measures against terrorism
  • For effective protection of minors
  • For a more peaceful Europe

 

Facts on extremism

In 2016 alone, 1002 people were arrested for terrorist offences across Europe. Most of these were Islamist motivated offenders. Terrorism caused 142 casualties and 379 injured, some severely, in Europe last year. 137 of the deaths were caused by jihadists. 

Extremism has many faces. In Europe, left-wing, right-wing or also Islamist extremism occur especially often. However, people with an extreme political and religious background have one thing in common: they reject our democracy and basic values. And they are prepared to pursue their goals, even with violence.  

 

Extremism cost 11 billion euros in 2015

However, extremism is not only a danger to our life. Extremist violence cost more than 11 billion euros worldwide in 2015 (Source: Global Terrorism Index). That is nearly eighty times the annual budget available to the European Union. Money with which poverty and hunger in the world could sustainably be fought against, that could be invested in social equalisation and better education.

Extremism is one problem which affects us all. We can only stop terror through a joint approach.

 

Hate on the web

Social media plays an important role today: Facebook, Twitter & Co. are used to spread extremist ideas further. On nearly all platforms, you can find inhuman, discriminating and racist content. The reason for this is also due to little readiness on the part of the social media to remove hate messages. Often, promised measures are only half-heartedly implemented.

Extremist content is, above all, aimed at impressionable young people. They use false, inhumane assertions and manipulate using images. They do this to achieve their objective: to fuel hate against specific groups of people and organisations and to call for violence against others and “non-believers”. 

 

Fast Facts

 

Stop_Extremism_Fast_Facts2_kl_en.jpg

Stopp mit deiner Unterschrift den Extremismus in Europa

Unterstütze unsere europäische Bürgerinitiative:

  • Für ein Maßnahmenpaket gegen Terror
  • Für den Schutz von Minderheiten
  • Für ein friedliches Miteinander

Fakten zu Extremismus

 

Allein im Jahr 2016 wurden europaweit 1002 Personen wegen Terrorismusdelikten festgenommen. Den Löwenanteil daran machten mit 718 Verhaftungen islamistisch motivierte Straftäter aus. Terrorismus forderte in Europa im vergangenen Jahr 142 Todesopfer und 379 teils schwer Verletzte. 137 Tote davon gingen auf das Konto von Jihadisten. 

Extremismus hat viele Gesichter. In Europa kommen besonders häufig linksextremer, rechtsextremer oder auch islamistischer Extremismus vor. Menschen mit einem extremen politischen und religiösen Hintergrund haben aber eines gemeinsam: Sie lehnen unsere Demokratie und Grundwerte ab. Und sie sind bereit, ihre Ziele auch mit Gewalt zu verfolgen. 

 

Extremismus kostete 2015 11 Billionen Euro

Extremismus ist aber nicht nur eine Gefahr für unser Leben. Extremistische Gewalt hat 2015 weltweit mehr als 11 Billionen Euro gekostet (Quelle: Global Terrorism Index). Das ist fast das 80fache des Jahresbudgets, das der Europäischen Union pro Jahr zur Verfügung steht. Geld, mit dem man Armut und Hunger auf der Welt nachhaltig bekämpfen könnte, das man in sozialen Ausgleich und in bessere Bildung investieren könnte.

Extremismus ist ein Problem, das uns alle betrifft. Nur durch ein gemeinsames Vorgehen können wir den Terror stoppen.

 

Hass im Netz

Soziale Medien spielen heute eine wichtige Rolle: Facebook, Twitter & Co. werden genutzt, um extremistische Ideen weiter zu verbreiten. Auf praktisch allen Plattformen sind menschenverachtende, diskriminierende und rassistische Inhalte zu finden. Der Grund dafür liegt auch in der geringen Bereitschaft der sozialen Medien, Hassbotschaften zu entfernen. Oft werden versprochene Maßnahmen nur halbherzig umgesetzt. 

Extremistische Inhalte wenden sich vor allem an junge Menschen, um sie zu beeinflussen. Sie bedienen sich falscher, menschenfeindlicher Behauptungen und manipulieren mit Bildern. Sie tun dies, um ihre Ziele zu erreichen: Den Hass gegen bestimmte Menschengruppen und Organisationen zu schüren und zu Gewalt gegen Anders- und „Ungläubige“ aufzufordern.

  

Fast Facts

 Stop_Extremism_Fast_Facts_kl_de.jpg